Master Detail App – with or without Storyboard

I’ve created two projects to demonstrate the navigation techniques I described in my previous post. If I am creating a new project and I do not have to support previous versions of iOS, then I would definitely use storyboarding. It makes navigation so much easier and consistent. If you have not come across it, I would recommend iPad and iPhone Application Development by Paul Hegarty from Stanford University in iTuneU. It is interesting, informative, educational and most importantly free. 🙂

Back to the projects. The main things I was trying to demonstrate in those projects were navigation techniques. So some of the things in those projects may not pass the quality check for production code. Please turn a blind eye on those things and I hope there is something useful for you in those projects. 

The projects demonstrate (one using storyboard and one not):

  1. loading a new master page from the current master page
  2. loading a new detail page from the current master page
  3. loading a new detail page form the current detail page

The trigger for loading a new detail page from the current detail page is a single tap (forward) and two finger tap (backward). More detailed description of how it works is available in the previous post. 

Here are the links to the projects on github.

 

Tagged , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Master Detail App – with or without Storyboard

  1. mini says:

    Thanks for this ,I’ve been looking for this solution for about a month now , every time I come across with an example which was done using nib’s not storyboards .In the end I decided not to use storyboards . But luckily I came across this accidentally today , II still can use this for other future projects . Thanks again for this.

  2. Davide says:

    You are great, it works well!
    I have master-detail app with 3 tabbar in masterview (tableview of course), i wasn’t able to load many different detailviewcontroller in the detailview correspponding on selected row. Now i got it!. In order to pay my karma, when i finish my app i would like to make tutorial.

Leave a comment